It turns out…

…the adjustment to two children is more rough than I thought it might be. It may be because hubby was moved to night shift when Hamlette was 6 weeks old, but I’m having a bit of a rough time.

Everyone asks me how Hamlette is sleeping (all. the. time). I want to say, “like a baby” in response, but I never remember to be snarky when someone actually asks. My answer now is, “too well” because I make so much milk, and she takes a long stretch of sleep in the beginning of the night. Like, 4-6 hours straight. I’m not deluded enough to believe it will stay that way, but I am grateful for it. Except for the problem of recurrent blocked ducts/ mild mastitis. It’s the perfect storm of awesome sleep and oversupply and I’m not entirely willing to wake up and pump every two hours. Maybe I should. But first I’m trying a block feeding schedule to try and lower my supply a smidgen at the recommendation of our midwife.

I’m not going to lie, recurring blocked ducts/mild mastitis sucks rocks. But breastfeeding is still absolutely worth it and I haven’t considered weaning. Actually, my main concern with getting pregnant again soon after Hamlette would would be having to wean her before a year. But, I’m pretty stubborn once I’ve made up my mind about something: it would take a whole lot (or, as Hamling says, “a very lot”) of bad to happen to make me use formula. God forbid I ever need to. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not trying to say that formula is terrible (it’s not!) it’s just not my ideal method of feeding my babies.

The reason I missed last Friday’s post was because on top of my third blocked duct I had a wicked sore throat that took until Monday to feel okay again. I got it on Thursday last week. So I spent my time laying around trying to eat and drink stuff and care for a baby and toddler. That was fun.

Other than that, the adjustment is okay. It’s just that I have a nasty habit of overdoing it and paying for it later. I’m hoping to be back up and running here very soon!

Leave a Reply

