Gluten Free Dinner Rolls.

IMG_0713 There are certain things I miss about wheat breads. Dinner rolls are one of them and I was excited to find a recipe for them in the Test Kitchen book. But they were disappointing when I made them, which isn’t something I say very often about the recipes in this book, so I experimented a little.

The first thing I wanted to get rid of was the powdered milk. Powdered milk is basically oxidized cholesterol which is bad news, Bill. Dietary cholesterol isn’t necessarily the villain it’s been made out to be, but oxidized cholesterol deserves all the bad rap normal cholesterol got.

IMG_0714The second thing I wanted to do was use some soured raw milk I had sitting in my fridge. So I gave it a shot. These might also be good using broth instead of the milk, but the soured milk gave it a bit of extra leavening I think, which was needed because these were super dense the first time I made them.

The third thing I did was use coconut oil instead of butter. Not for any reason other than butter disappears ridiculously fast at our house. Coconut oil makes baked goods more dense, so I was nervous about it, but I didn’t have any other options so I just went with it. These rolls (despite the coconut oil) were less dense than the last two or three times I had tried them. I count that as a success, but I bet they would be even more delicious if I had used butter.

Gluten Free Dinner Rolls

  • Servings: 8
  • Difficulty: medium
  • Print
1 1/3 cups warm (110°F) sour raw milk (or cultured buttermilk)
2 tsp lemon juice (or lemon water kefir)
1 egg plus one yolk
15 ounces (3 1/3 cups) flour blend minus milk powder
2 Tbs powdered psyllium husk
2 Tbs sucanat
2 1/4 tsp instant or rapid rise yeast
2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp salt
6 Tbs butter or coconut oil

  1. Grease a 9-inch round cake pan with coconut oil or butter.
  2. Whisk the milk, lemon juice, and egg plus yolk in a bowl. Using a stand mixer fitted with a paddle mix all the dry ingredients until combined.
  3. Slowly add the milk mixture and let the mixture come together, about 1 minute. Add butter/oil and increase the speed to medium beating until sticky and uniform, about 6 minutes.
  4. Working with a little over 1/3 cup of dough at a time, shape into rounds using wet hands. Arrange rolls in the greased pan: 1 in the middle and 7 around the edge. Cover loosely with plastic wrap and allow to rise in a draft-free place until rolls double in size, about 1 hour. Risen rolls can be refrigerated for up to 4 hours.
  5. Preheat the oven to 375°F. Remove plastic wrap and bake for 35-40 minutes, rotating pan halfway.
  6. Let rolls cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Turn them out onto the rack and flip them over to cool for 10-15 minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

