Gluten Free Banana Muffins.

IMG_0712I love banana bread. It’s even better if it’s made in an easy to grab form like a muffin. I look for overripe bananas every time I’m at the store, specifically for these muffins. They make an awesome snack to take along to parks or road trips. You can also eat them for breakfast, but be prepared to eat three or four in one go.

I’m at a point in my pregnancy where blackstrap molasses sounds incredibly good. If you’ve ever had blackstrap molasses you will know how strange that is. I haven’t grown a taste for eating it by the spoonful yet, but I want to add it to everything I can, like mashed sweet potatoes or anything I bake. So the last time I made these and I only had 2 bananas I added some blackstrap to the batter because it was too dry, and why not? They turned out really well, so I’m including the adjustments as a variation at the end of the recipe.

Gluten Free Banana Muffins

  • Servings: 12
  • Time: 35 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print
1 3/4 cup flour blend (I use this one sans milk powder)
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup coconut oil (or butter)
1/8-1/4 cup sucanat
2 eggs
3 bananas

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Put paper muffin liners into a muffin tin.
  2. Beat sugar and oil until creamy. Add eggs and mix until combined.
  3. Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl. In another bowl, mash the bananas.
  4. Alternate adding the flour mixture and the bananas to the sugar/oil mixture. Start with half the flour, mix until combined then add the bananas and mix until combined. Add the remaining flour mixture and mix until combined.
  5. Scoop batter into muffin cups lined with paper liners. Bake for 17-20 minutes, rotating muffin tin halfway. Allow to cool in the muffin tin for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack.

Variation:
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/8 cup blackstrap molasses
2 bananas

Leave a Reply

