Bone Marrow!

IMG_0674Bone marrow was one of those things that never crossed my mind as edible. I always thought of marrow bones as dog bones, and a lot of people think of them the same way. It wasn’t until I read Ramiel Nagel’s book Cure Tooth Decay that I considered marrow to be food. Even though that book had convinced me to try it I still had to get over the ick-factor. I was raised on the standard American diet (SAD) and I pretty much only ever ate muscle meats. Why on Earth should I eat bone marrow (or liver)?

I started this blog as an outlet. People don’t want to hear about your food adventures in person, especially if you’re offering it as some form of advice. I have watched someone’s eyes glaze over in annoyance or disinterest many times while explaining food (even after being asked), so I brought it to the big wide world of the interwebs. On the interwebs I can’t see you being annoyed so I just keep going. It’s pretty great.

Anyway, the whole point of the above ramble was that I’m kind of off in the tall grass when it comes to diet and nutrition: I don’t follow the government guidelines or what mainstream nutritionists say. I never have anything less than whole milk in the refrigerator and I eat butter off the knife. So it seems like trying bone marrow wouldn’t have been weird for me, but I had my reservations. I have to say that I’m not a fan of eating it straight out of the bone. Many people love it this way but it isn’t for me, I didn’t like the texture. It’s a bit like eating semi-solid gelatin, which makes sense considering what it actually is.

The flavor of beef marrow bones, however, is a winner. What I’ve started doing is roasting them, taking the marrow out with a baby food spoon and melting it into quinoa or rice. The rich flavor it lends to the quinoa is amazing and it makes a veggie stir fry super filling.

As an added bonus I make beef stock out of the bones and marrow drippings that got left behind in the pan I roasted the bones in. Bone marrow broth makes a phenomenal minestrone soup!

To roast the bones preheat the oven to 450°, shake some salt and pepper on the wider end of the bone and set it in a baking dish with a rim. Shake salt and pepper on the top and roast them for 15 minutes, or until the edges are bubbly. If you don’t like eating things that are slightly pink, roast the bones for 2 to 3 minutes more. Once they’re roasted you can serve them as is or remove the marrow for some other purpose.

To make stock place the bones and any veggie scraps into a stock pock and cover with water. Use a bit of hot water to clean the marrow drippings out of the baking pan. Season however you’d like and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, for 2 to 3 hours. Strain and store, or enjoy for dinner!

Leave a Reply

