Gluten Free Blondies

IMG_0671 I mentioned that I over-soaked two pounds of almonds two posts ago. They sat on the kitchen counter, still in the jellyroll pan I roasted them in because I’m such a cheapskate I was having a really hard time throwing them out. My husband was munching on them the whole time and I asked him (somewhat incredulously) if they were actually edible. He answered me by eating another one. Then I asked my awesome sister-in-law the same thing and she said she thought they were fine. So I made some almond butter out of them. I only got about 1/2 cup of almond butter because by the time I had the energy to do it, hubby had eaten more than 3/4 of the entire two pounds!

The almond butter turned out a bit earthy tasting, but it was still good. I’m going to post my recipe for almond butter next week so that everyone can enjoy the awesomeness. I was inspired by Justin’s Nut Butters to try adding cocoa butter into my nut butters. It is so good! So look out for that recipe next week!

I made my own quinoa flour for this in my blender. I have a retro blender, and I’m not kidding. This is my blender:

blender

You should know that less than half of those buttons actually work because this is a blender from (probably) the 70s. So if my blender can do it, your blender can do it too.

I sprouted the quinoa for this and dried it in the oven. A word of caution about sprouting quinoa: quinoa sprouts really fast. You should only sprout a little at a time, or separate a large batch into smaller containers for the actual sprouting process, because when you over-sprout quinoa you get a really earthy batch of quinoa that smells like weed when you dry it. I did end up burying the last batch I over-sprouted as I mentioned two posts ago, but I very slightly over-sprouted this batch too simply because there was so much of it sprouting at once. It was salvageable, but take note from my mistake: sprout quinoa in small batches.

I made half of a batch because I didn’t have enough almond butter, but I am posting the recipe for a full batch.

Almond Quinoa Blondies

1/4 cup coconut oil (or butter)IMG_0673
3/4 cup almond butter
2 eggs
1/4 + 1/8 cup sucanat (or other sugar)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Line an 8×8 baking pan with parchment so that the paper hangs over the edge of the pan.
  2. Beat the oil and almond butter until smooth. Add in eggs, sucanat, and vanilla and mix until combined.
  3. Whisk together all of the dry ingredients in a small bowl. Add them to the almond butter mixture and stir until combined. Stir in chocolate chips.
  4. Bake until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean or with a few moist crumbs on it, 25 to 35 minutes. Do not over bake.
  5. Let it cool in the pan on a wire rack for 45 minutes.
  6. Pull it out of the pan using the parchment, cut it into pieces and allow to cool completely before storing.

These will last in the fridge for 5 or 6 days if you’d rather make-ahead. Since they don’t use the standard gluten free flours refrigerating them is ok.

 

Leave a Reply

