Spring Breakfast Muffins (GF)

IMG_20150513_173913I have been gluten free for a little over a year and a half. I started avoiding it on account of my thyroid, and I still avoid it because it still makes me feel less than great the day after I eat it. I do better with it now than I used to, but I do even better not eating it at all so I generally avoid it if possible. My dad got me an amazing cookbook for my birthday: The How Can it be Gluten Free Cookbook by America’s Test Kitchen. I was going to talk about it today, but I made these muffins two days ago and they’re amazing, so I’m sharing the recipe instead.

Like everything else I cook, I used the recipe in the book as a guideline and made a bunch of substitutions. Sometimes this fails spectacularly but mostly it works out alright. This time I ended up with a delightful muffin that wasn’t too sweet, but perfect for breakfast. Especially with a nice pat of butter on top. I used the blueberry muffin recipe in the book and made adjustments for the different fruit.

All I can say about this recipe is, “I need a strawberry patch, ya’ll.”

Gluten Free Strawberry Rhubarb Breakfast MuffinsIMG_20150513_164308

11 ounces (1 3/4 cups plus 2/3 cup) gluten free flour blend
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/4 cup sucanat
1/8 teaspoon powdered stevia
1/2 cup melted coconut oil
1/2 cup sour heavy whipping cream
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup rhubarb, cut into small cubes
1/2 cup strawberries, cut into small cubes
extra sucanat for sprinkling on top

  1. Mix the flour blend, baking powder, salt and xanthan gum together in a bowl, set aside.
  2. Combine the melted coconut oil, sucanat, vanilla and stevia in a mixer bowl and mix for a minute. Add the eggs and the cream and mix until well combined.
  3. Using a rubber spatula, stir flour mixture into the egg mixture until thoroughly combined and no lumps remain, about a minute. Fold in the fruit until evenly distributed. The batter will be thick and stiff, similar to cookie dough.
  4. Cover tightly and let rest for 30 minutes.
  5. Preheat the oven to 375°. The rack should be in the middle position.
  6. Grease a muffin tin, or line with paper liners, and scoop the dough into the cups. I used a cookie scooper.
  7. Sprinkle sucanat over tops and bake until the muffins are golden and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean, 16 to 20 minutes, rotating pan halfway through.
  8. Allow the muffins to cool in the muffin tin on a rack for 10 minutes before removing.
  9. Enjoy.

A thing to note about gluten free baked goods: the refrigerator is not your friend. Refrigeration will make your baked goods dry and dense, so it’s best to avoid it. If you make these ahead, just let them cool completely after removing them from the muffin tin and put them in an airtight container on the counter. Mine seemed better the next morning, actually.

Leave a Reply

