All About that Paste

I recently made some sprouted hummus. I was inspired to tweak my usual recipe in an attempt to mimic the hummus that is served at Yaffa’s Savory Mediterranean culinaria. It is the most creamy, amazing hummus I have ever had in my life. Because I’ve been exploring the world of sprouting I thought I’d give it a go. My results were pretty good, but I still need to tweak a few things to get it to taste exactly like Yaffa’s. Nevertheless, this hummus is bangin’ so I’m sharing the recipe with you!

The first step is to sprout the beans. This took me a couple days, but I think it could have been finished in just one if I had been more sure of myself. Anyway, the way I sprouted the beans was I soaked them overnight and drained them in the morning. I just left them in the colander and rinsed them every couple of hours. Then I cooked them until they were tender, which was about 3 hours on the stove top.

I also soaked the sesame seeds for the tahini. They may have sprouted, but I’ll need to do this again to be 100% sure about that. I used brown sesame seeds because they’re cheaper than white sesame seeds at Vitamin Cottage. I dried and toasted them before grinding them up with some olive oil.

This hummus is best eaten the day you make it, but it’s pretty delicious after a day or so in the fridge. It just gets really thick once it has been refrigerated.

Sprouted HummusIMG_0637

1.5 cups dry garbanzo beens
Water to cover

1/2 cup brown sesame seeds
Water to cover

3 cups sprouted, cooked garbanzo beans
1/3 cup bean water
1 cup olive oil, divided2 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cumin
1 pinch cinnamon
1 pinch cayenne pepper

  1. Soak the garbanzo beans overnight. Strain in the morning. Leave in the colander, rinsing every few hours until you see sprouts start to form.
  2. In a large soup pot cover the beans with water. There should be 2 inches of water over the top of the beans. Bring to a rolling boil. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 3 hours or until the beans are tender.
  3. Drain the beans, saving the water, and set aside.
  4. Soak the sesame seeds overnight. Drain and rinse.
  5. Place seeds in the oven on low to dry. Once dry, heat the oven to 350°F. Bake until fragrant, about 5-10 minutes.
  6. Allow the seeds to cool slightly before putting them into a food processor, processing them into a rough paste.
  7. Pour 1/4 cup of the oil over the seed paste and process until smooth.
  8. Once the tahini is smooth add one cup of the beans, spices and garlic and process a little.
  9. Add the bean water and another cup of the beans, processing again until smooth.
  10. Add the oil and the last cup of beans and process until it reaches the desired consistency. This took me about 2 minutes.
  11. Enjoy.

 

I can’t make hummus without singing “All About that Paste” so here it is for your viewing pleasure.

Leave a Reply

