Solé!

Part of my morning routine is to drink a glass of salt water solé (pronounced so-lay). Most mornings I make it warm, but sometimes I drink it cold. I started doing this in lieu of lemon water because the acidity of the lemon was wreaking havoc on my sensitive teeth to the point that simply breathing hurt my mouth. It has become an important part of my day because it gives me energy and helps me with a list of other things. Sometimes I drink it two or three times a day, depending on how much physical activity (usually in the form of toddler-lifting) I’m doing. The minerals from the salt have a myriad of benefits for health and general well-being. Here are a few things drinking sole has helped me with:

  • Better sleep quality
  • More energy throughout the day
  • Muscle fatigue
  • Menstrual cramps (this is the most dramatic benefit)

If you look online the drink itself is touted to help practically everything. I’m not sure if I’d take it that far, but I definitely believe that consuming the minerals the salt provides is important because I also believe that our food is mineral deficient thanks to our current farming system.

I should clarify that you cannot make this with table salt. In fact, you should just get rid of table salt altogether and go grab some real salt, like sea salt or Himalayan salt. Sole is made with Himalayan salt crystals which contain several minerals that are beneficial to humans. If you think about it, salt water sole is basically an unflavored sports drink you can make at home for a fraction of the cost. You could add it to some juice to give you an extra boost if you really can’t stand the taste of salt water.

I also use this as a substitute for trace minerals when I’m making water kefir, kombucha, or anything that calls for trace minerals really. I’m not 100% sure about whether it is a comparable substitute to something you’d buy at the store, but it seems to work just fine because none of my counter-top pets have died yet! I’ll look into that next week while I’m getting groceries and report back.

To make salt water sole you’ll need:IMG_20150224_101447

1 glass pint jar
1/4 cup Himalayan salt crystals
Water Plastic lid and spoon.

Put the salt crystals in the pint jar and fill with water. Put the lid on and let it sit for 24 hours. If there is no salt left at the bottom of the jar add more and let it sit overnight until you can see salt at the bottom of the jar. Your sole is now ready to use! Add 1 tablespoon to an 8 ounce glass of water and drink that. If it’s too salty for you, start with a teaspoon and work up.

It’s important to use a plastic lid because of the corrosive effects of salt water on metal. Any benefits would be negated by the presence of whatever metals leached into the water during the corrosion process. The spoon is a little less important because it won’t be it contact with the water for long periods of time, but I have read that metal deionizes the salt and that it should be avoided altogether. So, use caution with the spoon, but if you don’t have a plastic or wooden one it’s probably not a big deal since the spoon is only in contact with the water for as long as it takes to scoop some into a glass.

Leave a Reply

